Home > IT, Unsolved problems > REAL VNC Shared connection on same PC not working…

REAL VNC Shared connection on same PC not working…


As usual my pc is always switched on and I’m using Real-VNC to remote control it. A backup remote application TeamViewer is running behind it. reason why I like Real-VNC is that its very thin application and I can customise as I want to have it.

Another strong reason why I do not prefer TeamViewer is that TV using a master server to establish the connection and all the traffic is going through the server what ever you doing is passing the server through.

TV also provide VPN service but most of the TV user either don’t know about it or they never know that their information is passing TV servers by.

Internet is big you might think your no one will interest about you pc. switch off your firewall and surf internet for one week. you will end up with trojans and key loggers. Winking smile

 

I have recently seen a report that 15% of internet has been hacked by Chinese (Government or hackers I don’t have enough clue) but 15% of traffic went through Chinese servers which means they could do whatever they want to do with the DATA.

So I better protect my data as I use internet-banking Winking smile

Now to the VNC Story.

We have more than 10 computers at home and some of them have static IP and rest dynamic. My desktop and laptop has following IP adresses

 

Default Gateway (DSL modem/Router) : 192.168.1.1

AVM Wireless Router (Acts as wireless router but part of the network: 192.168.1.10

Desktop : 192.168.1.20 : VNC server port 5920

Laptop   : 192.168.1.21 : VNC Server port 5921

Laptop1 : 192.168.1.22 : VNC Server port 5922

xx           : 192.168.1.xx : VNC Server port 59 + ip

and I use No-ip software(duc.exe) to update my public IP into a web address:

 

I have setup NAT port forwarding that connection via 5900(default port for VNC) should redirect to 192.168.1.20 to local ip 5920)

than another entry

local ip                 : 192.168.1.21

Global Ip from      : 0 (default)

global ip to          : 0 (default)

remote port from: 5921

remote port to    : 5921

local port             : 5921

 

and flowed all other ips with their ports.

 

Somehow only the desktop pc was accessible because it has the default gateway 5900

the others was not accessible. I still could not figure out why I could not access the other pcs.

I call my pc through VNC viewer

myExternalIP::5900 > Desktop pc is accessible

myExternalIP::5921 > Error 10060 no connection or server not responding..

 

I even tried to setup Remote Desktop for each PCs. Somehow only the default port was accessible the others weren’t!!

I’ve searched on the internet and they said its my DSL modem which is not capable of doing proper NAT service. I did agree because that DSL modem+router came with my TalkTalk broadband.

 

The second headache was that VNC serer didn’t accept shared connections.

AS i said the default port (which is my desktop) was still working so I used my desktop from my office for my external purposes. if i needed my laptop I connected my Desktop and than via local IP I connected my laptop.

 

One day my friend want to see my desktop while I was working. I gave him my External IP and the port (Externalip::5900) which I use  to connect and activated sharing mode to “Client configuration/defined configuration”

image

I hoped he could also connect to my pc but was no luck.. Even I could not open another VNC window from my place.

before I connect I checked the option “shared connection” to make sure that the server accept the second connection.. but no luck..

I didn’t even get any error message that the server in use.. so I thought it must be something with my router which is not forwarding second connection to the VNC server.

image

This issue went for a month. I didn’t had time to check this as I was busy with my working projects and family.

One day I was doing VPN connection and I had to open ports 1723 and 47 for my desktop.

after I opened those ports 1723 and 47 for my desktop in my router the VNC started to accept shared connections.

Still I’m not sure what caused that VNC server suddenly accepted multiple connections… but VNC is now accepting multiple connections…

I’m still rewinding my mind to the latest changes I have done to figure out what could caused the VNC to accept multiple connections…….

all I have done… opened port 1723 and 47 for my desktop IP

once I have changed the VNC to the 3.3 protocol mode and imported its settings.

apart from that no other changes in my mind…

 

Still trying to figure out what was the reason….

And suddenly the other VNC ports on my laptop is also accessible from outside…

when I call my ExternalIP:: port

no clue what really happened…

 

 

 

 

Windows Live Tags: REAL,connection,backup,TeamViewer,Another,server,traffic,user,Internet,surf,Chinese,Government,clue,DATA,Story,laptop,Default,Gateway,Router,Desktop,port,setup,Global,viewer,Error,Remote,TalkTalk,headache,office,friend,External,Externalip,mode,Client,configuration,luck,option,message,Still,protocol,computers,ports,purposes,servers,modem,myExternalIP,didn
WordPress Tags: REAL,connection,backup,TeamViewer,Another,server,traffic,user,Internet,surf,Chinese,Government,clue,DATA,Story,laptop,Default,Gateway,Router,Desktop,port,setup,Global,viewer,Error,Remote,TalkTalk,headache,office,friend,External,Externalip,mode,Client,configuration,luck,option,message,Still,protocol,computers,ports,purposes,servers,modem,myExternalIP,didn

Categories: IT, Unsolved problems
  1. April 30, 2014 at 10:41 pm

    I got this web page from my pal who told me on the topic of this web site and now
    this time I am browsing this web page and reading very informative posts at this place.

    Like

  2. May 31, 2014 at 4:04 am

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a
    blog post or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

    Like

  3. June 28, 2014 at 4:31 am

    I’m not sure exactly why but this blog is loading very slow
    for me. Is anyone eelse having this issue or iis it a problem on my end?
    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

    Like

  4. September 23, 2014 at 5:09 am

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or
    copyright violation? My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems
    a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without
    my permission. Do you know any techniques to help reduce content
    from being stolen? I’d really appreciate it.

    Like

  5. October 2, 2014 at 7:59 pm

    Superb, what a webpage it is! This website presents valuable information to us,
    keep it up.

    Like

  6. October 17, 2014 at 12:57 am

    Valuable information. Lucky me I found your web site by accident, and I’m stunned why this accident did not
    happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

    Like

  7. October 19, 2014 at 5:23 am

    Thank you, I’ve recently been searching for info approximately this subject for ages and yours is the
    greatest I have found out so far. However, what
    in regards to the conclusion? Are you sure in regards to the
    supply?

    Like

  8. October 24, 2014 at 7:34 am

    Hi Dear, are you in fact visiting this web site daily, if so
    afterward you will definitely take pleasant know-how.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

