Home > IT, Solved problems > Windows does not start, Cannot install new windows, windows setup failure…

Windows does not start, Cannot install new windows, windows setup failure…


Its been a while I have written new blogs. Have been busy with my final year project in Software Engineering. My project has been awarded with a Distinction but felt sad leaving my University and colleagues.

 

Lets move to the new story.

My uncle (oh yes we do have tones of uncles and aunties and their millions of kids as cousins) called me and said his laptop is broken and if I could have a look.

I asked him what happened?

uncle: Don’t know suddenly not working. The laptop had vista, we tried to install Win7 but we couldn’t, tried to install vista again and vista also wont install.

Me: Mhh strange! Any error messages?

uncle: You know? the set-up screen? even it doesn’t come up, I cant install any operating system.

Me: Any recent hardware changes?

Uncle: yes, we thought its the HDD so we  tried to change the HDD but it still remains the same!, Even we tried to change the RAM still same..

Me : Mhh ok bring the lap and leave it on my desk I will have a look. I went to work.

 

23:00 clock I came from work tired and saw a Toshiba Satellite Laptop on my desk with a note on the top : “Not working”

I wanted to check the pc before taking dinner (yes late dinner but I’m slim though Smile with tongue out). Switched the lap on and inserted Win7 Disk and wanted to install windows.

Checksum Error : The file checksum ……….. is not matching……. … error!!! bangggg

 

Never seen such an Error while trying to install an operating system. I was curious and forgot to take my delicious dinner which mom have left on my desk.

 

Quickly restarted the pc inserted a Windows live cd  and wanted to give a start. It was CD was loading bud frozen after couple of seconds. Mhhh strange!!! some serious problem!!

I was more curious….

Inserted a Linux cd and wanted to see.. CD loading.. boot strap… ERROR NO SPACE

Woaa!! no space?? some thing wrong with HDD?

 

My brain quickly analysed next steps I shall take instead of wasting time it was almost 23:45

wanted to give a last try with an old operating system “WINDOWS 98”

Inserted win98 cd…

start from cd..

drivers are loaded… ( i was happy, little hope it’s working)

setup started..

scanning progress..

Scandisk … stopped with error “unable… to bla bla bla”

setup aborted as it cannot continue without scandisk.

 

one more last chance???

inserted my USB live windows.. and wanted to give a try..

that DAMN Laptop did not want to start any of my source….

 

At least it accepted win98 and booted until the dos mode.. so one more last hope to do something..

windows 98 cd

start from cd

dos mode..

changed to A:\

fdisk…

wanted to reformat the HDD ( it had 40gb hdd)

old FDISK command is bad at formatting large HDD’s (above 2gb)

I wiped the full disk.. 

Tried again with usb windows to install..

 

DAMN…… what the hell??? I cant install anything…

 

lied on the bed for couple of minutes! and refigured what could be the issue…

 

I totally forgot I had another USB with Hiren boot cd which I use for most of my repair actions!

 

Jumped from the bed inserted HIREN BOOT USB and loaded the main menu..

HDD scan… no fault!

Memory scan : right side 8 bits of 16 are marked red!

wow.. some new progress…

 

Restarted the Memory diagnose, right side 8 bits were marked bad and left side was ok!!

 

I was wondering why BIOS didn’t throw any beeps if memory was faulty.

 

Quickly I’ve checked the memory is not faulty physically its logically corrupted… (assume so)

 

Just triggered that my sister also has Toshiba laptop.

YES!!! I sniffed to her room (It was 1:30 am) and stole her Toshiba laptop..

Quickly changed the RAM to the uncles laptop…

 

started the laptop, inserted win7 cd… and setup was running voila!!! What a mess!!

 

I remembered my uncle said he also replaced the RAM. Did he really replaced? or just changed the RAM from Socket A to Socket B?

 

Anyhow, replacing the RAM fixed the bug and I was able to install Vista on the laptop..

 

Usually people (even me) think If BIOS does not give any unusual beep’s that everything is fine also the RAM.

Never it comes to the mind to diagnose the RAM in such situation where the actual problem is the RAM it self.

Reason the ram is corrupted but not physically, otherwise BIOS would have notified!!

Solution: RAM changed.

 

PS: Operation finished at 5:00 AM… 6:00 I have to prepare, 7:00 AM have to leave home for work.. my dinner shall be my breakfast Smile)))))

 

Technorati Tags: ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Windows Live Tags: Windows checksum error,Memory diagnose,Cannot install windows,Cannot start,Windows,Software,Distinction,Lets,Uncle,Toshiba,Satellite,Laptop,Disk,Checksum,Error,Mhhh,Linux,SPACE,Woaa,Scandisk,DAMN,FDISK,Hiren,BOOT,Memory,BIOS,Just,Socket,Vista,Reason,Solution,does,start,install,setup,project,uncles,said,could,look,again,strange,cant,system,change,same,desk,work,from,dinner,curious,forgot,take,left,live,give,couple,some,problem,hope,mode,scan,side,bits
WordPress Tags: Windows checksum error,Memory diagnose,Cannot install windows,Cannot start,Windows,Software,Distinction,Lets,Uncle,Toshiba,Satellite,Laptop,Disk,Checksum,Error,Mhhh,Linux,SPACE,Woaa,Scandisk,DAMN,FDISK,Hiren,BOOT,Memory,BIOS,Just,Socket,Vista,Reason,Solution,does,start,install,setup,project,uncles,said,could,look,again,strange,cant,system,change,same,desk,work,from,dinner,curious,forgot,take,left,live,give,couple,some,problem,hope,mode,scan,side,bits
Blogger Labels: Windows checksum error,Memory diagnose,Cannot install windows,Cannot start,Windows,Software,Distinction,Lets,Uncle,Toshiba,Satellite,Laptop,Disk,Checksum,Error,Mhhh,Linux,SPACE,Woaa,Scandisk,DAMN,FDISK,Hiren,BOOT,Memory,BIOS,Just,Socket,Vista,Reason,Solution,does,start,install,setup,project,uncles,said,could,look,again,strange,cant,system,change,same,desk,work,from,dinner,curious,forgot,take,left,live,give,couple,some,problem,hope,mode,scan,side,bits

  1. January 22, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    hi

    Like

  2. February 5, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would really benefit from some of the information
    you present here. Please let me know if this alright
    with you. Regards!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

